Amy Thielen

  • biopress
  • home5
  • 067_Thie_978-0-307-95487-9
  • Amy's backyard, Indian Creek - to go with wild rice
  • 179_Thie_978-0-307-95487-9
  • home3
  • home4
vintage-crust

RECENT BLOG POST

Vintage Apple Pie, and Nebraskan Fleur de Lys

Obligatory apology for blog neglect . . .   Or, better yet, can we skip it? I’m trying to cut down on shame and guilt these days, as we all should. And as my boy Hank says, I’m addicted to Instagram. I pretty much post daily at @amyrosethielen, so for… MORE >

New Book!

giveagirlaknife-smallerfinalcover

"One of the best culinary memoirs you'll ever pick up"—Rolling Stone

"Thielen has a warm, wry tone, whether recalling her mother crushing bags of crispy kettle chips or the great Bouley conjuring up AstroTurf-color spinach puree."—National Book Review

"Awesome for foodies, this book should also be read by fans of literary memoir.” —PBS News Hour

"The most important aspect of what Thielen learns as a chef is how to apply masterful techniques with something less tangible: seduction." —Los Angeles Times

"Amy Thielen . . . is the first food writer I've ever read who makes me yearn for the hard physical labor of cooking." —The Chicago Reader

"Fans of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gabrielle Hamilton's Blood, Bones and Butter will enjoy this chef's memoir of learning to cook in Minnesota and dicing and deep-frying her way through the kitchens of some of New York's most esteemed chefs."—AM New York

"An evocative and enlightening new memoir." —Minneapolis Star Tribune

"What is it they say? Writers write. Chefs cook. Amy is the rare example of someone who does both like a boss!"—Vivian Howard, author of Deep Run Roots

"Simultaneously sincere and funny" —Publishers Weekly

Available for purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound and iBookStore and Target.

HB_Amy-Thielen-04_s4x3.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide

Heartland Table

Heartland Table, an instructional cooking show shot in Amy’s house in northern Minnesota, and co-produced by Lidia Bastianich’s Tavola and Random House Studio, debuted on Food Network in September, 2013.....

MORE >

Behind the Scenes on Instagram